Midi Designer VG99 Layout

Today I’m releasing a draft version of my VG 99 layout for Midi Designer.

The layout contains a significant number of controls so you will need to consider becoming a Midi Designer Pro user, but believe me, I’ve got way more value from Midi Designer than the purchase price. Now I can integrate and interact with midi devices in ways I’d never previously imagined. Midi Designer Pro upgrade is a no brainer to me.

My aim for this template is to support the CREATION of patches, not to ease your task in performance mode…as there is already a Midi Designer layout for that. My layout goes way beyond the previously available VG99 layout as the images below show.

When I’ve talked to friends who own VG99’s they always said their biggest challenge was finding the basic controls to tweak sounds. So with this in mind, I’ve surfaced the controls that let you setup what I refer to as the FRONT and BACK of a chain of effects.

Just so you can understand why I’ve constructed the layout as I have…I consider things like the Noise Suppressor, Compressor, Amplifier to be the front end of the signal chain. Things like Delay, Reverb and EQ I consider to be the back end. This thought process just helped me decide where to place controls consistently.

There is also a zone I refer to as the Patch, which controls which patch number is selected and the tuning in effect, such as Standard, DROP-D, etc. This page also allows you to control the patch level.

Take a look at the Patch Page here:

Select patches and tunings and invoke the VG99 tuner

Select patches and tunings and invoke the VG99 tuner

The pages for amplifiers are identical as there is an A and B channel on the VG 99:

Amplifier B with corresponding effects

Amplifier B with corresponding effects

And finally, for now, here is the mixer page which provides access to basic mixer controls for the A and B channels, together with the A/B balance control which enables you set the balance between channels.

View the Mixer whilst you're tweaking an amplifier. Midi Designer Rocks!

View the Mixer whilst you’re tweaking an amplifier. Midi Designer Rocks!

OK, all you need now is the layout which is available on my public Dropbox folder – VG99 – Midi Designer Layout

Feel free to do whatever you like with the layout. I’m going to continue to work on it and am also suggesting new features to the Midi Designer team which will enable me to make this layout even more powerful.

Have fun, and happy New Year!

Posted in iPad, Midi Designer, VG99
4 comments on “Midi Designer VG99 Layout
  1. Hey there, looks great! Did this layout move forward from here? Is this the one you use? Do you still use it?

    Thanks!

    • virtualpud says:

      Hey Dan, great to hear from you. I used this for a long time, but recently I’ve been moving house and also developing an app of my own since I launched a new startup called In8Beats. I’ll drop you an email to re-establish contact.

      Thanks
      Chris

  2. lukedoyleguitar says:

    Hi, Looks like I’m a little late to the party…Is this layout still publicly available? Dropbox link is dead 😦 Looks like a nice layout!

Leave a comment